The Runaway // New album details and summer tour


The Magic Numbers
The Runaway

available on CD, Deluxe CD, Double vinyl & download.

We are delighted to announce details of The Magic Numbers new album “The Runaway” which will be released on Monday June 7th along with a full UK tour starting on June 3rd.

It was produced by Romeo with Valgeir Sigurosson, who has worked with the likes of Bjork, Bonnie Prince Billy, Múm and many others, and was mixed together with Ben Hillier (Doves, Elbow, Blur) Several of the songs feature string arrangements by the bands late great friend Robert Kirby, renowned for his work with Nick Drake. It was the last ever project Robert worked on before he sadly passed away in October of last year and they have dedicated this record to him. This album also features Angela and Michele taking over lead vocals on ‘Throwing My Heart Away’ & ‘Why Did You Call?’.

We are really proud of this record and so are the band, album no. 3 and their finest recordings yet. It’s lush, soulful, string laden pop & nobody does this better.

You have probably already got the free download of one of the album tracks ‘Hurts So Good’ but you won’t have yet heard the first single from the album ‘The Pulse’ which the band will be sending out to you on the 12th April as a thank you for being part of our mailing list and supporting them.

There will be a limited-edition of the album which comes with an exclusive 4-track live EP which was recorded at the beautiful Wiltons Music Hall in London in January. You can pre-order that along with tickets for the bands tour via HMV & clicking here.

Here’s the tracklisting for the CD & Vinyl, full details of the bonus tracks to follow as this is hot off the press;

1. The Pulse
2. Hurt So Good
3. Why Did You Call?
4. Once I Had
5. A Start With No Ending
6. Throwing My Heart Away
7. Restless River
8. Only Seventeen
9. Sound Of Something
10. The Song That No One Knows
11. Dreams Of A Revelation
12. I’m Sorry

plus with the first copies of the double gatefold vinyl edition there’s a hidden track, except it wont be hidden it will be on very limited 1 sided 7″!

bonus 7″

& you can see the band on tour in June with their friends, the wonderful Ed Harcourt who will also have a new record out & the beautifulLangley Sister’s who will also be providing string accompaniment as ‘The Dirty Pretty Strings’ for the band.


3rd Leeds — Irish Centre
4th Newcastle — University
5th Glasgow — ABC
7th Manchester — Academy
8th Liverpool — Academy
9th Sheffield — Leadmill
11th Bristol — Anson Rooms
12th Wolverhampton — Wulfrun Hall
13th Cambridge — Junction
15th Brighton — Komedia
16th Norwich — Waterfront
17th London — Shepherd’s Bush Empire

Official Website

Share |