Next month Katy J Pearson releases her stunning new album, ‘Sound Of The Morning.’

Today, she shares ‘Float’ featuring black midi’s Morgan Simpson on drums and co-written with Oliver Wilde, frontman of cult band Pet Shimmers.

‘Float’ follows previous singles, the 6Music A-listed ‘Talk Over Town’ and ‘Alligator’ as well as ‘Game of Cards.’


On the track Katy say’s

“I wrote this track with Oliver Wilde, a founding member of the excellent Pet Shimmers – he’s been at the centre of the Bristol music community for several years. For the new album, I wanted to collaborate with some of my peers that I admire, so I jammed with Oli for a few weeks – he’d come round with his laptop and interface and we’d write songs together. Float is one of the tracks that came out of those writing sessions and as soon as we wrote it I knew that it had to be on the record; it was one of my favourites to write and I love it. It has such an atmosphere and I think you can really feel the emotion and pain of the song; it’s about life experiences and all the things that lead up to certain moments. It’s quite nostalgic and given the past two years we have had, references wondering about when things will become more stable again.”


The album will be available as a DL, CD plus regular and limited purple and clear vinyl editions.



Last weekend, Katy played her instantly charming single ‘Talk Over Town’ marking her TV debut on BBC Two, Later…with Jools Holland.


Katy plays Glastonbury Festival on The Park Stage next weekend and she has just announced European shows supporting Pavement in November.

Check out her in-store dates, festival appearances & headline shows ⬇️