H.Hawkline (Huw Evans) has today shared a new track, ‘Empty Room’ which is taken from his forthcoming fifth album, ‘Milk For Flowers’ out on Friday 10th March 2023.

This follows previous album tracks ‘Milk For Flowers’, ‘Suppression Street’ and ‘Plastic Man’.

Talking about the track, Huw said:

“A song about the middle, written before and after. I used to think that if I stayed very still, I could stop time. Houses possess this ability: moments become trapped in stillness, the whole room frozen, too big to fit through the door. I think it was me who moved. My coat buttons are made of snow, I fasten them on the beach as I think of you.”


Having used the same video for ‘Milk For Flowers’ and ‘Plastic Man’, Huw extends and slightly alters the concept by again using the video for ‘Empty Room’, except this time with a different ending, as he explains:

“This is the last time you watch the video. The ending is different but we arrive the same way as before. I wanted the ending to feel like reality but to be honest, I’ve never ordered a White Russian in a Stetson.”


The video was shot by Ben Hardy, choreographed by Daisy Smith, styled by Gus Sharpe, and edited by Casey Raymond.

‘Milk For Flowers’ Tracklist

Pre-order ‘Milk For Flowers’

‘Milk For Flowers’ is produced and features musical contributions from long-time collaborator and celebrated solo artist Cate Le Bon.

Having contributed to every one of the other’s albums over the last decade-and-a-half — an alchemical meeting of minds which pushes both artists’ practices in ever more shining directions – Cate’s contribution to Huw’s most emotive album to date is irrefutable taking on the role of producer with what Evan’s describes as “ a gentle and knowing hand, Cate did what no one else could have done: it’s what Cate always does.

Cate added about working on Milk For Flowers :

“I watched my dear friend, H.Hawkline, fold into himself and extract from a terrible time an album so exquisitely raw, yet deftly graceful. I had the extreme honour of being trusted as producer and gently helped him tease this beautiful work into existence. He writes music and lyrics that are porous to all the hues of a day. He sits melancholy at the table with absurdity and no-one bats an eye. Not without effort but always with a natural hand moving pieces around from the inside out. It’s a beautiful thing to be continuously moved and surprised by an old friend.”

Recorded at Rockfield Studios in Monmouthshire, the album features a host of musical collaborators – Davey Newington [Boy Azooga] on drums, Paul Jones [Group Listening] on piano, Tim Presley [White Fence, DRINKS, The Fall] on guitar, Stephen Black [Sweet Baboo] and Euan Hinshelwood [Younghusband, Cate Le Bon] on sax, Harry Bohay [Aldous Harding] on pedal steel and John Parish [PJ Harvey, Aldous Harding] on infrequent bongo. The record was then engineered by Joe Jones [Aldous Harding, Parquet Courts] with additional engineering by Krissy Jenkins and mixed, after an unlikely and fortuitous crossing of paths, by the Grammy-nominated Patrik Berger [Charli XCX, Robyn, Lana Del Rey], and mastered by Heba Kadry [Deerhunter, Cass McCombs, Cate Le Bon].


Next spring H.Hawkline has announced a UK headline tour, he plays:

10.03 · Cardiff · Clwb Ifor Bach
11.03 · Manchester · YES (Pink Room)
12.03 · Dublin · Workman’s Club
13.03 · Glasgow · Hug & Pint
14.03 · Leeds · Brudenell Social Club
15.03 · Brighton · The Hope & Ruin
16.03 · London · Omeara
17.03 · Bristol · Rough Trade

Additionally, he will support Aldous Harding across all UK and European dates in March and April 2023.

Dates & Tickets Here

Follow H.Hawkline ⬇️